Theory

Carnegie Mellon University has a strong and diverse group in Algorithms and Complexity Theory. The goals of the group are, broadly speaking, to provide a mathematical understanding of fundamental issues in Computer Science, and to use this understanding to produce better algorithms, protocols, and systems, as well as identify the inherent limitations of efficient computation. Research interests include data structures, algorithm design, complexity theory, coding theory, parallel algorithms and languages, machine learning theory, cryptography and security, computational aspects of economics, online algorithms, and scientific computing. 

http://theory.cs.cmu.edu

Faculty working in this area:

Lastsort ascending First Title Email
Woodruff David Associate Professor dwoodruf@cs.cmu.edu
Von Ahn Luis Consulting Professor biglou@cs.cmu.edu
Vinayak Rashmi Assistant Professor rvinayak@andrew.cmu.edu
Sleator Daniel Professor sleator@cs.cmu.edu
Shah Nihar Bhadresh Assistant Professor nihars@cs.cmu.edu
Sandholm Tuomas Professor sandholm@cs.cmu.edu
Rudich Steven Professor rudich@cs.cmu.edu
Procaccia Ariel Associate Professor arielpro@cs.cmu.edu
O'Donnell Ryan Professor odonnell@cs.cmu.edu
Miller Gary Professor glmiller@cs.cmu.edu
Harchol-Balter Mor Professor harchol@cs.cmu.edu
Haeupler Bernhard Assistant Professor haeupler@cs.cmu.edu
Guruswami Venkatesan Professor venkatg@cs.cmu.edu
Gupta Anupam Professor anupamg@cs.cmu.edu
Goyal Vipul Associate Professor goyal@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Avrim Faculty avrim@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Lenore Distinguished Career Professor of CS lblum@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Manuel Bruce J. Nelson University Professor mblum@cs.cmu.edu
Blelloch Guy Professor, Assoc. Dean for Undergraduate Programs guyb@cs.cmu.edu
Beckmann Nathan Assistant Professor beckmann@cs.cmu.edu
Balcan Nina Associate Professor ninamf@cs.cmu.edu
Acar Umut Associate Professor umut@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Theory