Systems

Building innovative systems of sufficient realism, scale, performance and usability to directly impact the practice of computing is a hallmark of Carnegie Mellon.

We often use the statement “System building is a first-class activity” to signify our belief that this activity is worthy of the finest minds and deserves the highest respect. We also believe that the effort involved in building realistic systems is amply rewarded by the insights gained and the impact achieved.

A rich tradition of systems such as Mach, Warp, Camelot, AFS, Spice, Hydra, Cm* and C.mmp stretching over twenty-five years forms the backdrop for our current research.

Faculty working in this area:

Last First Titlesort descending Email
Wactlar Howard Alumni Research Professor hdw@cs.cmu.edu
Sekar Vyas Assistant Professor vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Pavlo Andy Assistant Professor pavlo@cs.cmu.edu
Agarwal Yuvraj Assistant Professor yuvraj.agarwal@cs.cmu.edu
Crane Keenan Assistant Professor keenanc@andrew.cmu.edu
Lucia Brandon Assistant Professor blucia@andrew.cmu.edu
Sherry Martins Justine Assistant Professor justines@andrew.cmu.edu
Suresh Kumar Swarun Kumar Assistant Professor swarun@cmu.edu
Beckmann Nathan Assistant Professor beckmann@cs.cmu.edu
Vinayak Rashmi Assistant Professor rvinayak@andrew.cmu.edu
Andersen David Associate Professor dga@cs.cmu.edu
Parno Bryan Associate Professor parno@cmu.edu
Goldstein Seth Associate Professor seth@cs.cmu.edu
Siewiorek Daniel Buhl University Professor of Electrical And Computer Engineering And Computer Science; Faculty dps@cs.cmu.edu
Satyanarayanan Mahadev Carnegie Group Professor of Computer Science satya@cs.cmu.edu
Wing Jeannette Consulting Professor jw35@andrew.cmu.edu
Brumley David Director, Cylab; Professor, ECE; Associate Professor, CSD dbrumley@cs.cmu.edu
Schmerl Bradley Principal Systems Scientist schmerl@cs.cmu.edu
Seshan Srinivasan Professor srini@cs.cmu.edu
Harper Robert Professor rwh@cs.cmu.edu
Garlan David Professor garlan@cs.cmu.edu
Ganger Greg Professor ganger@cs.cmu.edu
Faloutsos Christos Professor christos@cs.cmu.edu
Harchol-Balter Mor Professor harchol@cs.cmu.edu
Mowry Todd Professor & Director of Computer Science Doctoral Program tcm@cs.cmu.edu
Steenkiste Peter Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering prs@cs.cmu.edu
O'Hallaron David Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering droh@cs.cmu.edu
Gibson Garth Professor, Associate Dean for Masters Programs garth@cs.cmu.edu
Fink Eugene Senior Systems Scientist eugenefink@cmu.edu
Bryant Randy University Professor bryant@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Systems