Computer Security

We have a strong group of faculty whose research is widely recognized for advancing the foundations of security and privacy, building provably-secure systems, and developing new programming languages and tools to aid the construction of secure software. The goal of our group is to provide a scientific understanding of the sources of insecurity in computer systems, and to apply this understanding to the construction of new software and systems that come with guarantees about how they will behave when under attack.

Security and privacy are concerns that cut across all subdisciplines in Computer Science, so we continually work closely with researchers from other areas to find new challenges and opportunities. As a result, our research covers a broad range of topics, including authentication, language-based security, secure information flow, system and network security, cryptographic protocols, privacy, and mechanisms for accountability and transparency. However, our work on these topics is united by the view that security is impossible to achieve without a solid footing in rigorous techniques, precise definitions, and an appreciation of the nuances in real systems that are oftentimes at the core of these problems. 

Faculty working in this area:

Last First Titlesort descending Email
Sekar Vyas Assistant Professor vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Agarwal Yuvraj Assistant Professor yuvraj.agarwal@cs.cmu.edu
Fredrikson Matthew Assistant Professor mfredrik@andrew.cmu.edu
Hoffmann Jan Assistant Professor jhoffmann@cs.cmu.edu
Yang Jean Assistant Professor jyang2@andrew.cmu.edu
Sherry Martins Justine Assistant Professor justines@andrew.cmu.edu
Fanti Giulia Assistant Professor gfanti@andrew.cmu.edu
Garlan David Associate Dean for Masters Programs; Professor garlan@cs.cmu.edu
Crary Karl Associate Professor crary@cs.cmu.edu
Goyal Vipul Associate Professor goyal@cs.cmu.edu
Parno Bryan Associate Professor parno@cmu.edu
Datta Anupam Associate Professor, CSD, ECE danupam@andrew.cmu.edu
Blum Manuel Bruce J. Nelson University Professor mblum@cs.cmu.edu
Siewiorek Daniel Buhl University Professor of Electrical And Computer Engineering And Computer Science; Faculty dps@cs.cmu.edu
Satyanarayanan Mahadev Carnegie Group Professor of Computer Science satya@cs.cmu.edu
Von Ahn Luis Consulting Professor biglou@cs.cmu.edu
Wing Jeannette Consulting Professor jw35@andrew.cmu.edu
Pfenning Frank Department Head; Joseph F. Traub Professor of Computer Science fp@cs.cmu.edu
Aldrich Jonathan Director, Software Engineering Ph.D. Program; Professor aldrich@cs.cmu.edu
Harper Robert Professor rwh@cs.cmu.edu
Andersen David Professor dga@cs.cmu.edu
O'Donnell Ryan Professor odonnell@cs.cmu.edu
Steenkiste Peter Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering prs@cs.cmu.edu
Brumley David Professor, ECE; Associate Professor, CSD dbrumley@cs.cmu.edu
Maxion Roy Research Professor maxion@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Computer Security