Computer Security

We have a strong group of faculty whose research is widely recognized for advancing the foundations of security and privacy, building provably-secure systems, and developing new programming languages and tools to aid the construction of secure software. The goal of our group is to provide a scientific understanding of the sources of insecurity in computer systems, and to apply this understanding to the construction of new software and systems that come with guarantees about how they will behave when under attack.

Security and privacy are concerns that cut across all subdisciplines in Computer Science, so we continually work closely with researchers from other areas to find new challenges and opportunities. As a result, our research covers a broad range of topics, including authentication, language-based security, secure information flow, system and network security, cryptographic protocols, privacy, and mechanisms for accountability and transparency. However, our work on these topics is united by the view that security is impossible to achieve without a solid footing in rigorous techniques, precise definitions, and an appreciation of the nuances in real systems that are oftentimes at the core of these problems. 

Faculty working in this area:

Lastsort ascending First Title Email
Yang Jean Assistant Professor jyang2@andrew.cmu.edu
Wing Jeannette Consulting Professor jw35@andrew.cmu.edu
Von Ahn Luis Consulting Professor biglou@cs.cmu.edu
Steenkiste Peter Professor of Computer Science And Electrical And Computer Engineering prs@cs.cmu.edu
Siewiorek Daniel Buhl University Professor of Electrical And Computer Engineering And Computer Science; Faculty dps@cs.cmu.edu
Sherry Martins Justine Assistant Professor justines@andrew.cmu.edu
Sekar Vyas Assistant Professor vyass@cs.cmu.edu
Satyanarayanan Mahadev Carnegie Group Professor of Computer Science satya@cs.cmu.edu
Parno Bryan Associate Professor parno@cmu.edu
O'Donnell Ryan Professor odonnell@cs.cmu.edu
Maxion Roy Research Professor maxion@cs.cmu.edu
Hoffmann Jan Assistant Professor jhoffmann@cs.cmu.edu
Harper Robert Professor rwh@cs.cmu.edu
Goyal Vipul Associate Professor goyal@cs.cmu.edu
Fredrikson Matthew Assistant Professor mfredrik@andrew.cmu.edu
Datta Anupam Associate Professor, CSD, ECE danupam@andrew.cmu.edu
Crary Karl Associate Professor crary@cs.cmu.edu
Brumley David Director, Cylab; Professor, ECE; Associate Professor, CSD dbrumley@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Manuel Bruce J. Nelson University Professor mblum@cs.cmu.edu
Andersen David Associate Professor dga@cs.cmu.edu
Aldrich Jonathan Director, Software Engineering Ph.D. Program; Professor aldrich@cs.cmu.edu
Agarwal Yuvraj Assistant Professor yuvraj.agarwal@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Computer Security