Algorithms and Complexity

Researchers in our Algorithms and Complexity Theory group aim to provide a mathematical understanding of fundamental issues in computer science, and to use this understanding to produce better algorithms, protocols and systems, and identify the inherent limitations of efficient computation. Research interests include data structures, algorithm design, complexity theory, coding theory, parallel algorithms and languages, machine learning theory, cryptography and security, computational aspects of economics, online algorithms, and scientific computing. We welcome students who have a combination of theoretical and application-oriented research interests.

http://theory.cs.cmu.edu

Faculty working in this area:

Lastsort ascending First Title Email
Woodruff David Associate Professor dwoodruf@cs.cmu.edu
Von Ahn Luis Consulting Professor biglou@cs.cmu.edu
Sleator Daniel Professor sleator@cs.cmu.edu
Sandholm Tuomas Professor sandholm@cs.cmu.edu
Rudich Steven Professor rudich@cs.cmu.edu
Procaccia Ariel Associate Professor arielpro@cs.cmu.edu
O'Donnell Ryan Professor odonnell@cs.cmu.edu
Miller Gary Professor glmiller@cs.cmu.edu
Harchol-Balter Mor Professor harchol@cs.cmu.edu
Haeupler Bernhard Assistant Professor haeupler@cs.cmu.edu
Guruswami Venkatesan Professor venkatg@cs.cmu.edu
Gupta Anupam Professor anupamg@cs.cmu.edu
Goyal Vipul Associate Professor goyal@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Manuel Bruce J. Nelson University Professor mblum@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Avrim Faculty avrim@cs.cmu.edu
Blum Lenore Distinguished Career Professor of CS lblum@cs.cmu.edu
Blelloch Guy Professor, Assoc. Dean for Undergraduate Programs guyb@cs.cmu.edu
Balcan Nina Associate Professor ninamf@cs.cmu.edu
Acar Umut Associate Professor umut@cs.cmu.edu
Subscribe to Algorithms and Complexity